Academic Calendar 2020 – 2021

Community college students and Weekend College students should refer to their separate calendars as appropriate. NMSU-Las Cruces campus official beginning and end dates are in  italics.

 

August 19 – December 15, 2020

Event Date
Campus Housing Opens Friday, August 14 - Sunday, August 16
Faculty Report Monday, August 17
Fall Convocation Tuesday, August 18
( Postponed until January 19, 2021)
Instruction Begins Wednesday, August 19
Last Day to Add a Course without Instructor’s Permission  Thursday, August 20
Late Registration (late fee applies) Friday, August 21
Deadline For Filing Degree Application
(Students meeting requirements at end of Fall)
Friday, August 28
Last Day to add a Course with Instructor’s Permission Friday, August 28
Census (Mini-Semester 1 - First Eight Week Term) Friday, August 28
Last Day to Drop Course without “W” (refund) Friday, September 4
Census (Full Term - 16 Week Term) Friday, September 4
Labor Day Holiday (no classes scheduled) Monday, September 7
Window for early performance grades Friday – Tuesday,  September 25-29
Indigenous Peoples Day (special programming)       Monday, October 12
Last Day to Drop Course with “W” (no refund) Friday, October 16
Census  (Mini-Semester 2 - Second Eight Week Term) Thursday, October 22
Thanksgiving Holiday for Students Monday – Friday, November  23 – 27
All Courses Pivot to Online Delivery* Monday, November 30 – Friday, December 11
Last Day to Withdraw from the University (4:59 p.m.) Friday, December 4
EXAM WEEK
(ALL EXAMS ONLINE)
Monday – Friday, December 7-11
Last Day of Classes Friday, December 11
Commencement Friday, December 11 and Saturday, December 12
Campus Housing Closes Saturday, December 12
Faculty Deadline to Submit Final Grades (by 5:00 p.m.) Tuesday, December 15
* Includes all labs and studio sessions

January 25 – May 14, 2021

Event Date
Faculty Report Thursday, January 14
Curriculum Study & Improvement of Instruction Thursday – Friday, January 14-15
New Student Orientation/Registration Friday, January 15
Residence Halls Opens Sunday, January 17
Martin Luther King Holiday Monday, January 18
Spring Convocation Tuesday, January 19
Instruction Begins Monday,  January 25
Late Registration (late fee applies) Friday, January 27 - February 3
Last Day to Add a Course without Instructor’s Permission Tuesday, January 26
Deadline for Filing Degree Application
(Students meeting requirements at end of spring)
Friday, January 29
Last Day to Add a Course (Instructor’s Permission Required) Wednesday, February 3
Census (Mini-Semester 1 - First Eight Week Term) Wednesday, February 3
Last Day to Drop Course without “W” (refund) Friday, February 12
Census (Full Term - 16 Week Term) Friday, February 12
Presidents Day (no classes scheduled) Monday,  February 15
Window for early performance grades Friday – Tuesday, March 5 – 9
Last Day to Drop Course with “W”
(no refund)
Thursday, March 25
Spring Break (no classes scheduled) Tuesday, March 23
Census  (Mini-Semester 2 - Second Eight Week Term) Wednesday, March 31
Summer and Fall registration begins Register for Classes
Spring Holiday (no classes scheduled) Friday, April 2
Last Day to Withdraw from the University (4:59 p.m.) Friday, May 7
EXAM WEEK Monday – Friday, May 10-14
Last Day of Classes Friday, May 14
Commencement Friday, May 14 and Saturday, May 15
Campus Housing Closes Saturday, May 15
Faculty Deadline to Submit Final Grades (by 5:00 p.m.) Tuesday, May 18

Session 1
January 5 – February 28, 2021

Event Date
Instruction Begins Tuesday,  January 5
Last Day to Add a Course without Instructor’s Permission Wednesday, January 6
Last Day to Add a Course (Instructor’s Permission Required) Friday, January 8
Last Day to Drop Course (100% refund) Friday, January 15
Martin Luther King Holiday Monday, January 18
Last Day to Drop with a “W” (no refund) Tuesday, February 2
Last Day of Classes Sunday, February 28
Faculty Deadline to Submit Final Grades (by 5:00 p.m.) Tuesday, May 18
Final grades available to students Wednesday, May 19

Session 2
March 1 – April 25, 2021

Event Date
Instruction Begins Monday,  March 1
Last Day to Add a Course without Instructor’s Permission Tuesday, March 2
Last Day to Add a Course (Instructor’s Permission Required) Thursday, March 4
Last Day to Drop Course (100% refund) Monday, March 15
Last Day to Drop with a “W” (no refund) Friday, April 9
Last Day of Classes Sunday, April 25
Faculty Deadline to Submit Final Grades (by 5:00 p.m.) Tuesday, May 18
Final grades available to students Wednesday, May 19

May 27 – August 10, 2021

Event Date
Campus Housing Opens Tuesday (noon), May 25
Registration for New Students Tuesday, May 25
Faculty Report Tuesday, May 25
Instruction Begins Wednesday, May 26
Last day to Add a Course without Instructor’s Permission Thursday, May 27
Late Registration (late fee applies) Friday, May 28
Memorial Day Holiday (no classes scheduled) Monday, May 31
Last day to Add a Course with Instructor’s Permission Wednesday, June 2
Census (Mini-Semester 1 - First Five Week Term) Wednesday, June 2
Census (Mini-Semester 3 - Eight Week Term) Monday, June 7
Last Day to Drop Course without “W” (refund) Wednesday, June 9
Census (Full Term - 10 Week Term) Wednesday, June 9
Independence Day Holiday (no classes scheduled) Monday, July 5
Last Day to Drop Course with “W” (no refund) Monday, July 6
Census  (Mini-Semester 2 - Second Five Week Term) Thursday, July 8
Deadline for Filing Degree Application Monday, July 12
Last Day to Withdraw from the University (4:59 p.m.) Thursday, July 29
Last Day of Classes Thursday, August 5
Campus Housing Closes Friday, August 6
Faculty Deadline to Submit Final Grades (by 5:00 p.m.) Monday, August 9

For 2019-2020 Freshman Orientation Program Dates: Contact the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management.



Additional Information