Welcome to NMSU


We are a comprehensive research, land-grant university excelling in teaching, research and public service. NMSU is truly a reflection of the region’s vibrant communities – an exciting place to tackle challenges, find answers to important issues and prepare for the future.


Quick Facts


Las Cruces, NM




Public University, Land-grant Institution


Pistol Pete

Vintage Aggie Pennent






Student Aid (Scholarships & Grants)


Research Expenditures (FY'21)
Our Profile

New Mexico State University (main campus) sits on a 900-acres and enrolls more than 14,000 students from across the U.S. and 89 foreign countries. NMSU is a NASA Space-Grant College and home to the very first Honors College in New Mexico. A Hispanic-Serving Institution, NMSU serves a multi-cultural population of students and community members across the state at four campuses, a satellite learning center in Albuquerque, cooperative extension offices located in each of New Mexico's 33 counties, and 12 agriculture research and science centers. Plus, distance education programs give students maximum flexibility.

Campus Maps & Directions
New Mexico State University Las Cruces, NM 88003

New Mexico is our Campus

Cooperative Extension

The Cooperative Extension Service provides practical, research-based knowledge throughout New Mexico and beyond. Extension staff, located in all 33 counties and tribal offices, deliver 4-H programs, conduct trainings, and share research-based information about livestock, nutrition, horticulture, and many other topics.

Cooperative Extension Map
New Mexico Department of Agriculture (NMDA)

In 1955, NMSU’s Board of Regents unified a number of regulatory services and the individuals responsible for administering them under a single administrative organization known as the New Mexico Department of Agriculture.


Located on NMSU's campus, the collaborative relationship between NMDA and NMSU exists today with the board serving as the state board of agriculture, thus solidifying the importance of agriculture to both the university and the state.

NMSU History

Our Heritage

NMSU was founded in 1888 as Las Cruces College. The Territorial Legislature of 1889 established the land-grant Agricultural College and Experiment Station, which officially opened on January 21, 1890. During its first full academic year, the college became known as the New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts, the first degree-granting institution in the Territory. Under the provisions of the Morrill Act of 1862 and subsequent federal legislation, the special mission of land-grant institutions has been to provide a liberal and practical education for students and to sustain programs of research, extension education, and public service.

Explore More about NMSU